Joke Joint Comedy Clubs present the BEST COMEDIAN EVER!!* contest starting Thursday, September 24th.

* = “Best” is defined as the person receiving the most points during the contest.  “Comedian” is any participant in the contest.  “Ever” is defined as “of all time, since the beginning of time.”  Seriously.  We wouldn’t joke about this.

Sixty-four comedians, 16 per week for 4 weeks of preliminary rounds, compete for the title of Best Comedian Ever!!*

Grand Prize:

  • $1,000
  • Bragging rights
  • Work at both Joke Joint Comedy Club in Minnesota and Joke Joint Comedy Showcase (Houston, TX), if appropriate


  • Material must be original
  • At each show, audience members vote for their three favorite comedians.  Voting cards with too few votes, or too many votes, are eliminated.  No hanging chads.
  • The Joke Joint Comedy Club will also vote for three comedians, awarding ten points to each comedian, without knowledge of the audience scores.
  • Comedians perform seven-minute sets, with a one-minute warning light.  Exceeding the seven minutes by one-half minute may result in elimination from the contest, at the discretion of the club.
  • The two highest-scoring comedians from each preliminary round will move on to the semi-finals.

Who is Eligible?:

Funny people.

That’s it!  You don’t have to have ever performed before.

Selection of contestants is strictly at the discretion of the club.  Spaces are limited.  Additional spots may be added at the club’s discretion.

Selection Process:

Contest is currently limited to 64 comedians.  Additional preliminary rounds may be added based on the number of applications received. Participation is not guaranteed.  Selection of entrants is solely at the discretion of Joke Joint Comedy Club.  Participants will be notified if they’ve been selected and the date of their performance by September 18.  Alternates will be selected and notified as well.

Free Passes For Contestants:

Contestants will each be given twenty free passes.  That’s twenty free votes for you!

Tickets will also be available for each show for purchase.  Since many contest nights are on Thursday, you may take advantage of the Moose Country Thursday Night Promotion.

Each show will include contest participants for the first half of the show, and a nationally-touring headliner.

Performance Dates and Headliners:



Thursday, SEPTEMBER 24, 8:00 pm and SEPTEMBER 25, 10:30 pm: JR BROW

With contestants: TBA.

Congratulations to TBA!

Thursday, OCTOBER 1, 8:00 pm and OCTOBER 2, 10:30 pm: SAM DEMARIS

With contestants: TBA.

Congratulations to TBA!

Thursday, OCTOBER 8, 8:00 pm and OCTOBER 9, 10:30 pm: MIKE STANLEY

With contestants: TBA.

Congratulations to TBA!

Thursday, OCTOBER 15, 8:00 pm and OCTOBER 16, 10:30 pm: MICHAEL MALONE

With contestants: TBA

Congratulations to TBA! 



Thursday, OCTOBER 22, 8:00 pm and OCTOBER 23, 10:30 pm: KEVIN AVERY

With contestants: TBA

Congratulations to TBA!



Thursday, OCTOBER 29, 8:00 and OCTOBER 30, 10:30 pm: GABE NOAH

With contestants: TBA.

Congratulations to TBA! 


 Six finalists compete. This is a special event, with the winner declared at the end of the show.

Skip to toolbar